Wastewater

Zoning

What We Do

The Columbia Wastewater System consists of collection facilities and treatment facilities designed to transport and remove pollutants from the wastewater generated by users within the service area - Columbia's Public Sewer Utility.

 

A Brief History

The Collection System is divided into basins and sub-basins. These basin boundaries are typically defined by the natural topography of the land. Pump stations are used only when wastewater must be transported to another basin. The Columbia Wastewater System currently operates 26 remote pump stations.

The Columbia Wastewater System operates a conventional activated sludge treatment facility. The facility went "on-line" in March of 1979 with a major upgrade in 2000. The Wastewater Treatment Plant has the design capacity to treat 14 million gallons of sewage each day. The facility is staffed 24 hours a day. Our operating employees must have State of Tennessee certification and license based on the conditions of our National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit and the State of Tennessee regulations. Laboratory analysis must be performed daily for self-monitoring reports and for process control. Columbia Wastewater System is continually adapting to new rules and regulations issued from the State and the Federal Governments.

Funds to operate the wastewater system are generated by service fees charged to customers of the Columbia Wastewater System. City property taxes do not fund the wastewater system.

Need answers? Take a look at our frequently asked questions or contact us for assistance.

WASTEWATER DEPARTMENT STAFF 931-560-1001

Donnie Boshers, Director
Ext 1011
dboshers@columbiatn.com

Kim Elliott, Administrative Assistant
Ext 1010
kelliott@columbiatn.com

Ryan Filipkowski, 
Staff Engineer
Ext 1023
rfilipkowski@columbiatn.com

Hal Haywood, Lab/Pretreatment Coordinator
Ext 1025
hhaywood@columbiatn.com

Travis Howell, GIS/CMOM Coordinator
Ext 1034
thowell2@columbiatn.com

Rickey Morrow, Collections Superintendent
Ext 1033
rmorrow@columbiatn.com

Wayne Pruitt, PS Maintenance Supervisor
Ext 1031
wpruitt@columbiatn.com


Wastewater Director Donnie Boshers
Donnie Boshers, 
Wastewater Director
dboshers@columbiatn.com

Columbia Wastewater System
1244 Treatment Plant Road
Columbia, TN 38401

CLICK HERE FOR MAP VIEW

Phone (931) 560-1001

Administrative Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 7:30am - 4:00pm

Plant Operations: 24 hours daily

24-hour Sewer Emergencies:
931-560-1001, option 1

Flush Responsibly
No wipes in the Pipes

Permit Application for Hauled Septage