Fire Suppression Division

2N5A4335About the Employees

The Fire Suppression Division operates out of five strategically located fire stations throughout the City of Columbia. The Suppression Division is made up of:

  • 3 Assistant Fire Chiefs 
  • 18 Captains
  • 3 Lieutenants
  • 18 Driver/Engineers
  • 54 Firefighters

Personnel are assigned to three 28-member shifts, working 24 hours on, 48 hours off within 28 day tours, allowing us to operate 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.


The Suppression Division provides:

  • Emergency medical services
  • Fire suppression
  • Hazardous materials response and mitigation
  • Participation in community events to provide residents with fire and life safety information
  • Personnel training
  • Pre-incident planning
  • Technical rescue operations