Fire

COLUMBIA FIRE DEPARTMENT

“Continuing a legacy of Exceeding Expectations”

The Columbia Fire Department is the premiere Fire Department in the State of Tennessee. This honor was recently acknowledged when we received a Class 1 rating from the National Insurance Services Office (ISO). At the time we received this honor, we were the only Fire Department in the State of Tennessee with this distinction. This Class 1 rating provides many benefits, including an incentive for recruiting businesses to Columbia by offering an opportunity for lower insurance rates. These benefits are possible because of the many hours of hard work by our personnel and city leaders.

With its humble beginnings as a volunteer service, the Columbia Fire Department has spent the last 147 years creating a legacy of service that continues still today. Our department currently serves over 35,500 residents that cover nearly 30 square miles. Columbia firefighters respond to over 4,000 calls a year that covers all types of emergencies. These emergency responses are serviced out of 5 stations that house 3 ladder trucks, 3 engine companies, 1 medical rescue unit, a rescue boat, and a co-operative effort with the Maury Hazard Operations Unit.

However, one of the most important efforts of this department is our Community Risk Reduction program. This program empowers the public with knowledge and assets to reduce the potential of hazards that cause the loss of life and property. Our goal is to help others live in a city free from risks and hazards while they fulfill happy and productive lives. As we continue to grow, we look forward to serving our citizens with professional care and compassion.

ISO









​​S1

Directory

1000 S Garden St
Columbia, TN  38401
560-1700

Fire Marshal
931-560-1740

Tommy Hemphill
Fire Chief
themphill@columbiatn.com

Tyler "Ty" Cobb
Assistant Fire Chief - Administrative
tcobb@columbiatn.com

Kirk Marks
Assistant Fire Chief - Training
kmarks@columbiatn.com

Anthony Davis
Fire Marshal
adavis@columbiatn.com

Billy Ring
Assistant Fire Marshal
bring@columbiatn.com

Donna Osmon
Administrative Assistant
dosmon@columbiatn.com

Dana McDaniel
Administrative Assistant
dmcdaniel@columbiatn.com